Happy New Sir!

1 01 2013

Happy New Year to one and all!

I’m not usually one for keeping abreast with the New Year honour list, but I was totally chuffed this year to see that Quentin Blake received a knighthood for his work as an illustrator – how wonderful! His distinctive style has delighted and fascinated me since I was teeny. I remember watching him on Jackanory (remember the Arabel & Mortimer stories?) and being struck by how he could convey so much in just a few strokes of his pen.

There’s one Sir Quentin/Dahl collaboration that I discovered relatively recently in a charity shop – I had no idea of its existence, and being a bit (!) of a railway geek these days I was delighted with it!

In 1991 the British Railways Board commissioned the pair of them to produce a railway safety guidelines booklet, and the result was the wickedly funny ‘Roald Dahl’s Guide to Railway Safety’ which was distributed to UK primary schools.

20130101-163409.jpg
If you’re a fan of Sir Quentin or Dahl and haven’t come across it before, I’d highly recommend you try and get hold of a copy.

I think it’s about time it was re-released, with an eBook version too. What better way to educate kids on how to behave around the railway than with our best children’s author and our newly be-knighted best illustrator?

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 01 2013
nuvofelt

I missed this. This award is so much more worthy than that given to someone who can ride a bike……

27 01 2013
rose appleby

…but those sideburns are a little bit worthy of some sort of reward tho…! πŸ™‚ x

10 01 2013
Piracetam

Written by Roald Dahl, and illustrated by Quentin Blake, Roald Dahl’s Guide to Railway Safety isn’t so much a book as it is a hilarious, yet informative, pamphlet aimed at young people.Produced by the British Railway Board, I remember receiving a FREE copy of this when I was but a snotty nosed primary school kid (all pigtails and child-like innocence I assure you). To this day I can clearly recall Roald Dahl’s reasons for not throwing things out of train windows!If you don’t already have a copy, you’ll probably struggle to obtain one for free in this day and age. However, this is a must for any Roald Dahl enthusiast and well worth the small amount of money being asked for by sellers!

27 01 2013
rose appleby

Ooooh, I’m a bit jealous you got one of the free ones! I love the illustration for “Don’t stick your head out the train window…”! Unfortunately I can’t find the bloomin’ thing in the mess of my house at the mo – wanted to use the image from that page in the blog post, ah well! Thanks for reading, and for taking the time to comment! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

