Rebus-less-ness…

13 01 2013

Back in December last year, I blogged about a line from an audiobook causing me to burst out with one of those impromptu snorty-belly-laughs on a rather busy train. The book I was listening to was ‘The Naming of Dead‘ by Ian Rankin, the 16th Rebus book. I’d been working my way through all the Rebus books since watching that most excellent Alan Yentob Imagine programme about the author on the BBC. As mentioned in the belly-laugh blog post, I’d read a couple of Rebus books donkey’s years ago, and remember the series with John (phwoor) Hannah from telly back in 2000. By the way, I really hope that documentary gets repeated at some point – I’d highly recommend it to anyone interested in the creative process. My other half, who’s a singer/songwriter, enjoyed it too, and it sparked much discussion on the similarities of writing stories (which I’m trying to do) and songs (which he does most excellently).

Anyway. All this Rebus catching-up (17 Rebus books, and the two Fox books) was prompted – after watching Imagine – by a desire not only to read the stories, but also to see how the author’s style had developed since Rebus made his debut back in 1987. But that’s not what this post is about – although I will say it was hugely fascinating witnessing this development, hugely enjoyable thanks to the excellent narrators (James McPherson, Bill Patterson etc) and hugely interesting to hear the author’s introductions which were included with a few of them – particularly the one about Robert Smith, having been a massive Cure-head since my yoof!

This post is about worry and relief, and the 18th Rebus book, ‘Standing in Another Man’s Grave’.

If you’ve read ‘Phantom‘, the latest Harry Hole book by Jo Nesbรธ, you’ll probably know why I was worried. If you haven’t, then… er… tough!

But having just finished ‘Standing in Another Man’s Grave’ today in the bath, I’m delighted to make this announcement:

I AM HUGELY RELIEVED!

And that’s it.

Well, not quite. I am of course now left in the slightly distressing situation of having run out of Rebuses. I’ve just started listening to ‘Doors Open‘ (after watching the excellent TV version over Christmas), and have a few more Rankins to go after that, but the problem still remains.

I’m Rebusless.

So Mr Rankin, if you’re out there… Pretty please?!

Actions

Information

4 responses

13 01 2013
nuvofelt

My DH is in the same position. ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t read fiction so I still have plenty of reading. I watched the TV prog, though, and it was interesting.

27 01 2013
rose appleby

I’m catching up with his non-Rebus books now – has your DH read any? On Blood Hunt at the mo, it’s really good! x

15 01 2013
writewyattuk

Great minds (and mine too) think alike, Rose,.. Spot-on sentiments. And here (plug, plug) is a rinky-dink-dink to my own little less-than-scientific Rebus experiment … http://writewyattuk.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/inspector-rebus-25-year-rocky-odyssey/

27 01 2013
rose appleby

Ta! ๐Ÿ™‚ Really enjoyed yours too, thanks for sharing it here!

Leave a Reply

