A birthday book…

15 02 2013

It’s my birthday, hurrah!

I crossed two things off my Paris to-do list today – we went to see the Lady and the Unicorn tapestries in the Musée de Cluny (WOW!!!), and whiled a way some time in the Shakespeare and Company bookshop, where something made me cry.

It was a children’s book called ‘The Heart and the Bottle‘, by Oliver Jeffers – beautifully illustrated, and it dealt with the issue of loss in such a moving way. Highly, highly recommended – for children, but perhaps for grown-ups too…

My other half bought me ‘The Complete Verse and Other Nonsense‘ by Edward Lear – I’d been after a ‘Complete Lear’ with his own illustrations, so was very pleased.

There’s a wall in the bookshop where people have pinned up little notes and messages, so seeing as I was there, and it was my birthday, and I’d found the perfect Lear book, I penned a wee limerick and stuck it up:

There was a young lady called Rose
Who liked to read poetry and prose
She searched far and near
For a big book of Lear
And found one right under her nose.

Right, now we’re off to find somewhere nice for dinner.

Au revoir!

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 02 2013
nellielionheart

I adore Pareeeee! Many happy returns! ~X~

15 02 2013
rose appleby

Thank you! 😀 x

Leave a Reply

