Fun with words…

30 09 2013

Hello hello hello!

I’m feeling more chuffed than a chuffy thing in a world of chuffness today.

A couple of weeks ago I happened upon this tweet:

 

I’ve never entered any sort of writing competition before, but a little rhyme popped into my head and I wrote it down just in case it would come in handy one day. Later that evening I suddenly thought “Oh, what the heck!” and emailed it to the competition organisers. Then thought, “You plonker, why did you do that?! It’s rubbish!”

A couple of days later the rhyme was still stuck in my head, along with a little image. So I doodled it – here it is:

IMG_7054

And that was that.

Except it wasn’t…

‘Cos it only went and got shortlisted in the top ten!

Which means… PAM AYRES READ MY RHYME!!!

I couldn’t be chuffeder! So this Thursday (which is National Poetry Day, don’t you know!) I’m popping off to London as I’ve won a couple of tickets to see her at Cadogan Hall, and I also won a copy of her new book, You Made Me Late Again! Hurrah!

And how else could I end this blog post but with a few more recent rhymes:

Shortlisted
I wrote a little rhymey thing
And nervously submitted it,
Then bless my soul, you’ll never guess –
They bloomin’ well shortlisted it!

This next one popped into my head on the way to the bus stop at 5am:

Early Doors
Shiny stars and silver moon,
Birdies tweet their morning tune;
An autumn nip is in the air
And I’ve got sticky-uppy hair.

And finally, an Unfortunate Incident on a train:

Smelly-footed Man
Oh smelly-footed man,
Your stinky odour is a-creeping –
It winds around the train
And gets all soaked up in the seating.

Oh smelly-footed man,
If only trains had pong-o-meters,
The reading you’d attain
Might make you buy some odour-eaters.

Laters! x

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 10 2013
Jean

Hi! Well done on being short listed – SO WAS I!!!! I was absolutely delighted! Living in Scotland made it impractical for me to go to London for the show- I had other commitments as well. I hope you enjoyed it.

I love your verse/drawing, I really thought the Daily Express would publish the winning entry – ever curious!

My verse was as follows:-
“When the dictionary closes, the words inside have fun.
They race around and muddle up, or even make a pun.
Against the normal strictness, they all enjoy rebelling,
But, they soon get back in order when I need to check my spelling!”

Kind regards,

Jean.

20 10 2013
rose appleby

Hi Jean,

Congratulations on being a fellow-shortlister! You’re rhyme’s delightful, thank you so much for sharing it.

Yes, I was expecting to see an article about the winner too.

Such a shame you couldn’t get to the show – it was a bit of a hike from Scotland tho.

Thanks for reading, and for your kind comments!

21 10 2013
Jean Livingstone

If I ever find out the winning entry – I’ll let you know!

“Happy writing”!

Jean. PS Have you got your book yet – I haven’t!?

Original Message —– From: Rose Appleby To: jliv@talktalk.net Sent: Sunday, October 20, 2013 8:14 PM Subject: [New comment] Fun with words…

rose appleby commented: “Hi Jean, Congratulations on being a fellow-shortlister! You’re rhyme’s delightful, thank you so much for sharing it. Yes, I was expecting to see an article about the winner too. Such a shame you couldn’t get to the show – it was a bit of a hike from S”

Leave a Reply

